Getting Started

Aug 23, 2008 at 6:04 AM
I'm just getting started on a protocol handler, and this project so far is a great resource.  However, I'm having an issue gettting the initial install functioning.

First - I'm attempting to install MOSSPH into Microsoft Search Server 2008 Express.  Is this supported?

I've compiled the source, verified everything was registerd with COM Interop, added a string value to the registry under:

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Office Server\12.0\Search\Setup\ProtocolHandlers
      MOSSPH = MOSSPH.ProtocolHandler

and then ran this command line to install the content source (from the CSInstall source):
  CSInstall.exe /i /siteName:http://wssdev /url:MOSSPH://wssdev /displayName:"My Content Source"

After this, the "My Content Source" does appear in the Content Sources, but when I attempt a full crawl, it terminates immediately, with no crawl log output.

Am I missing a step to getting this installed?

As for the intended use, I plan to connect to a database and index specific tables.  Does anyone have examples they would like to share?

Thanks
Sep 15, 2008 at 9:22 AM

I've got the exactly same problem.  The content source appears in the Content Sources, but crawl terminates immediately. I’m planning to crawl an external case/document system.

Does this PH support Microsoft Search Server 2008 (express)?

Regards,

Kurt

Sep 19, 2008 at 1:14 PM

Here are some checklist items you might want to look at. These are based on my own experience and might be wrong :)

1. Have you added a crawl rule for your URI (e.g. include mossph://*)?
  2. Is your Office SharePoint Server Search service running with enough privileges? The protocol handler tries to create a performance counter in ProtocolHandler.cs. You may need to run your search service under a different account, at least to start with. Personally, I think the performance counter creation would be better done in the CSInstaller project.